This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.0 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
9.0
Property location
9.1
Facilities
8.7
Staff
9.5
Value
8.9
Reviews
    Nicholas
    gb
    10
    28 January 2018
    Amazing!
    Ignacio
    au
    9.2
    13 January 2018
    Everything was good. Above expectations, but should be noted that Yudanaka is a small town. In my opinion the main atrraction are the snow monkeys and getting out the big cities.
    Authentic Ryokan with indoor-outdoor onsen (better experience than other more expensive hotels/ryokans in larger cities). Very large room with two separate instances and toilet (no shower, with onsen used as comunal bath as is traditional). Great views to interior garden. Owners/workers were very helpful despite inconvinient time in the year (new year). They drove from and to the station and to the Snow Monkeys park, recommended a place for dinner and explain everything very clearly (speak very good English).
    Kylie
    au
    10
    30 December 2017
    Really enjoyable, traditional stay in a beautiful, traditional ryokan with wonderful staff!
    A little cold in the hallway, especially when coming back from the onsen but no big deal, just rug up. Mind you, it was -5 outside!
    Amazing stay at Yudanaka Yamoto!! The staff were absolutely lovely. So helpful, accomodating and kind!! The room was ENOURMOUS! The Onsen was wonderful and the location was fantastic. The hallways were a little chilly with our baby but the ryokan is so big it would be a huge effort and not very economical to heat it. Our room was super warm and the heaters were always turned on for us by the time we got back.
    Louise
    au
    9.2
    28 December 2017
    Loved our host! Very friendly and helpful.
    it
    10
    28 December 2017
    Just perfect
    The hallways were pretty cold, but I guess it’s normal. In the and it’s an old traditional hotel. Wasn’t really a problem though
    I don’t now where to start to describe our experience at Yudanaka Yumoto. As soon you cross that door you can feel the atmosphere of a traditional ryokan. He owner was so nice to pick us up at the train station when we arrived. The hotel is really big and our room was spacious and th futons really comfortable! So relaxing drinking green tea in our living room and soaking in the onsen after visiting the snow monkeys park! Highly recommended for the ladies to try the male onsen (they switch the baths from 9pm to 8am) which has a outdoor hot spring. I had a bath on both lat night and early morning. It was snowing boh times and it was a unique experience. Also ordered a traditional dinner and breakfast... so delicious!
    Benjamin
    sg
    8.8
    23 December 2017
    A place worth staying again.
    Nil
    Excellent service by staff. They even drove me to the snow monkey park as well as the station on my last day. They really made me feel comfortable throughout my stay.
    kathleen
    au
    8.8
    19 December 2017
    Nothing
    Beautiful Japanese style rooms and a great host. Outdoor onsen was amazing in the snow.
    Jude
    au
    10
    23 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    nl
    8.3
    9 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jennifer
    gb
    9.2
    6 November 2017
    Friendly hosts at a convenient location
    Our hosts were very friendly and keen to please. They not only took us to/from the train station but also drove us to the park to see the snow monkeys. It was our first experience of an onsen and they showed us what to do. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable.
    ca
    9.2
    13 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nick Jaco
    au
    10
    5 August 2017
    Japan Alps Ryokan with onsen near snow monkey park
    We wanted the complete Japanese experience, but if you're uncomfortable sleeping on a futon on tatami mats, then get a western bed elsewhere. However, if you want to experience real Japan, this delivers.
    The staff were very welcoming. Delicious food (breakfast and dinner are recommended). Onsen (hot spring bath) on site with Yukata to wear. If you want the full Japanese Ryokan (inn) experience, this is it. Very spacious rooms (sleeping area, lounge, toilet) overlooking a garden, if you open up the screens. They have us a ride to the snow monkey Park (Jigokudani) and to the train station when we left. Perfect for a couple, though room enough for more.
    Tyler
    nz
    10
    18 July 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Yihong
    au
    8.8
    21 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    no
    7.5
    25 April 2017
    Ryokan with tradition and real taste of Japan
    A little bit far from ATM and restaurant
    The hospitality. The manager drove us to the entrance of the Snow Monkey Park. The onsen is nice, particular the outdoor one and the one with garden view. Dinner and breakfast were very good.
    Alissa
    au
    9.2
    12 April 2017
    Great stay!
    Owners were amazing and made us feel so welcome. They drove us to the monkey park and to the train station.
    Jen
    gb
    10
    8 April 2017
    Fantastic
    An amazing hotel. Fantastic hospitality. Best food we've had in Japan so far. Couldn't do enough for us. Offered to drive us to the snow monkeys and were shocked when we wanted to walk! Small touches Like shoes cleaned after muddy walk, leaving present box of chestnuts. Would highly recommend.
    LadyLong Beach
    us
    10
    5 April 2017
    Lovely stay a the end of winter - Rides to/from train station and Monkey park!
    I was so nervous about getting to this place - it took a bullet train and then a local train. I'm glad the innkeepers offered rides to/from the station and to/from the Snow Monkey park! The hallways could be a bit drafty and I would recommend ramps or boards over the smaller steps to some of the rooms (easier to maneuver luggage that way) on the ground floor.
    The owners were so sweet. I was worried about language communication but they tried and their English was far superior to my Japanese! I totally forgot what time I had told them I was expecting my train to come in (and wifi on the local lines is nonexistent) so I was surprised to see the one gentleman waiting at the station with my name on a sign! Knowing my lack of direction and knack for getting lost, I was probably a train or two behind my estimated schedule - who knows how long he was waiting! But I'm glad that I got a personal ride to the inn - it looks like only 6 blocks from the inn's website (not to scale) map but it would have been an uphill climb with luggage. Also, after checking in around 2pm (which is amazing since every other place in Japan wouldn't start checking in until 3pm) I got a ride to the parking lot of Snow Monkey park which saved me a bus and some more walking! The park was really awesome but still had snow on the ground and the trail was super muddy. I had brought boots but it seemed like the owners also had some to loan out to guests. When I wrapped up with the monkeys (like a mile uphill trek), then I walked back down and had Enza cafe call Yudanaka Yumoto and got picked up. The path to the onsen baths was a bit windy and the color of the flags advertise which sex has access to which set of baths at a time, but I actually had the female onsen all to myself! Towels are provided in your room along with a yukata, and slippers at the entrance. There are baskets and a mirror/hair dryer set up in he anteroom. There's an area to shower off before you go into the lovely hotsprings. I was surprised that my halfboard meals were solo, as I was expecting one group dinner room, but there was so much good, traditional Japanese cuisine and the food kept on coming!
    James
    au
    9.6
    4 April 2017
    The traditional room with own toilet was very spacious and awesome! Loved it!
    Can't think of anything.
    Our room was awesome. We had the fuji room, traditional Japanese room with own toilet. They onsen was great too. The staff were very helpful. We had a nice tradional breakfast in the morning. The town was lovely.
    magdyaly
    ch
    9.5
    27 March 2017
    Home away from home
    nothing
    Excellent place to stay if you are going for the snow monkey, live the experience of japanese style home , the stuff and the owner are very kind we were picked up at the station and drove back to catch the train back to Nagano even drove us up the hills to the entrance of the monkey park and my wife wife didn't have suitable winter shoes for the park walk the owner provided that as well with some other winter wares that saved us some $$, i will definitely stay again if i go back there.
Loading reviews